Confederate Flag
Confederate States Map

Confederate States Map
The image above is one of the earliest known maps of the Confederacy. The map appeared in the February 23, 1861 edition of Harper's Weekly. The map, for the first time, shows a nation divided; Divided, North and South, with the fate of Nations hanging in the balance. The Union States are shown in Gray, and the Confederate States are shown in White. The Southern States are shown to be: Texas, the Indian Territory (Oklahoma), Missouri, Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee, Kentucky, Virginia, Maryland, Delaware, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia and Florida. It was printed in February 23, 1861, shortly after the secession of the southern states to form the Confederate States of America.

Back to Duplin Co. Civil War Information

Back to Duplin Co. Military Links

Back to Duplin Co. Home Page